2017 Friends of the Dallas Police Awards Banquet


The Annual Friends of the Dallas Police Awards Banquet was held at the Hyatt Regency on November 6, 2017. Members of the department, both sworn and non-sworn, were honored for their dedication and commitment to the citizens of Dallas and the Dallas Police Department.

A sworn and non-sworn employee are selected as Bureau Employee of the Year from the Office of the Chief of Police and each of the five bureaus; Administrative Bureau, Investigations Bureau, Patrol Bureau, Strategic Deployment Bureau and Support Bureau. The Officer of the Year and Non-Sworn Employee of the Year are selected from these bureau award winners.

Non-Sworn and Sworn Bureau Awardees


 The Marvin R. Bullard Supervisor of the Year is Sgt. Ivan Gunther

This award is given in memory of Assistant Chief Bullard to acknowledge a supervisor with exemplary contributions to law enforcement. He is currently assigned to the Southwest Patrol Division. Sgt. Gunther has served the citizens of Dallas for 26 years. He was  promoted to Sergeant in 2012 and has a broad experience on all aspects of law enforcement. His dedication and willingness to do anything and everything asked of him has made a significant impact on overall crime in the Southwest Division.


 The Field Training Officer of the Year is Sr. Corporal David Feinstein

The field-training program is instrumental in developing police recruits into future police officers. This award was created to recognize the accomplishments of those who are responsible for transforming new recruits into self-sufficient police officers. Senior Corporal Feinstein is currently assigned to Northwest Patrol Division. He has served the citizens of Dallas for 27 years. He promoted  to Senior Corporal in 1997 and has been a primary Field Training Officer for the past 20 years. He has trained over 50 recruits.  He is always in the field volunteering for calls giving his recruits ample opportunity to grow and experience a vast array of situations.

The Johnny Sides Rookie of the Year is  Police Officer Fernando Garcia

The Johnny Sides Rookie of the Year Award was created to honor the memory of Johnny Sides who was murdered 21 days after graduating from the police academy when he was 21 years old. The recipient is selected by the Jaycees from the top three nominations presented by the Meritorious Conduct Board. Police Officer Fernando Garcia is currently assigned to the South Central Patrol Division. He has answered over 1800 calls, made 71 felony arrests, cleared  82 offenses, and made 32 drug seizures. Officer Garcia carries his passion for police work  beyond  the field by teaching Spanish to new recruits. He is also a member of the Dallas Police soccer team.


The Joe C. Jones Reserve Officer of the Year is Reserve Lieutenant D’Andrea Gadbury

The Joe C. Jones Reserve Officer of the Year award is in memory of Joe C. Jones who joined the Dallas Police Department Reserve Unit in 1968. Officer Jones passed away from injuries resulting from an automobile accident while en route to aid another officer in 1972. This award is given to recognize reserve officers and their dedication by volunteering their time to the Dallas Police Department and the citizens of Dallas while maintaining full-time jobs in other professions. Reserve Lieutenant Gadberry has served 15 years as a Dallas Police Reserve. She is assigned to the Central Entertainment District and is extremely valuable when planning events such as the Texas/OU Rally or the Prairie View/Grambling after parties. Lt. Gadberry is always instrumental at these events, her in-depth knowledge plays a huge role in the planning of these task-force operations. In her off duty life, she is a physical therapist for Baylor Scott and White Health and in the course of her work she treats law enforcement personnel who have been injured in the line of duty. Lt. Gadberry exemplifies the kind of police officer that all Dallas Police Reserves should aspire to be like.


 The James Taylor Non-Sworn Employee of the Year is Stephanie Mendoza

The James Taylor Non-Sworn Employee of the Year award is given in memory of Chief Helicopter Pilot and Reserve Officer James “Chuck” Taylor, who passed away in 1984 from a helicopter crash. This award recognizes a non-sworn employees of the department for their dedication to the police profession. Stephanie Mendoza is an Office Assistant currently assigned to the Auto Theft Unit. Stephanie Mendoza has served for 3 years.


 The John T. McCarthy Officer of the Year is Police Officer Joe King

The John T. McCarthy Officer of the Year Award is given in memory of John T. McCarthy, an officer who was murdered while investigating suspicious activity near White Rock Lake in 1981. This award commends an officer who has shown exemplary contributions to law enforcement. The nominees are submitted to the bureau commanders for consideration by supervisors throughout the department. The Officer of the Year is selected by the Chief of Police.  Officer of the year for 2017 is Police Officer Joe King. He is 20 year veteran of the Dallas Police Department. Officer King is currently assigned to the Administrative & Support Services.

Additional award recipients were honored in the following categories: Friends of the Dallas Police’s College Scholarship, Medal of Honor, Medal of Valor, Meritorious Conduct, Police Commendation, Life Saving and Police Shield. Congratulations to all of the award winners.