Governor Abbott Attends Dallas Police Department Awards Ceremony

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today, October 16, 2018, twenty Dallas Police Officers were recognized in an awards ceremony for their service to Texas communities during and after Hurricane Harvey. Governor Greg Abbott was an honorary guest in today’s ceremony, presented the awards and delivered remarks.

The twenty officers who received the awards are current members of the Texas National Guard and Texas Air National Guard who were deployed during and after Hurricane Harvey. “Harvey was one of the worst disasters our state has ever faced. And yet, as the storm raged, you put your lives on the line to rescue your fellow Texans,” said Governor Abbott. “Texas is a safer place because of the sacrifices of men and women like you.”

Dallas officers serve the citizens of Dallas proudly on a daily basis, in this case the service was extended to the Great State of Texas and those affected by Hurricane Harvey. Congratulations, your Department and State are very proud.

The officers honored included:

Senior Corporal Nicholas Smith #9881

Senior Corporal Scott Brust #10138

Senior Corporal Ernesto Elizondo #9502

Sergeant Gregory Conn #9932

Police Officer Cindy Armstrong #10718

Police Officer Chazz Morrison #10943

Police Officer Richard Cox #11174

Police Officer Jesse Philips #9448

Police Officer Thomas Hartmann #10073

Police Officer Veronica Garcia #10497

Police Officer James Vanarsdall #10577

Police Officer Natalie Vess #11078

Police Officer Daniel Kim #10987

Police Officer Johnathan McMillion #7758

Police Officer Andrew Cyr #10312

Police Officer Steven Miller #9558 

Police Officer Sugeny Genao #11178

Police Officer Michael Long #10876

Police Officer Bradley Hanlon #9879

Police Officer Steven Gomez #10297